Any smokers 20 and under may be stocking up before a new state rule goes into effect at midnight.
The new tobacco law taking effect in Oregon on January 1 will require a person to be 21 years old in order to buy tobacco products. The new measure also establishes a range of fines from $50 to $1,000 for people or business that sell tobacco to people under 21 years old.
Oregon is the fifth state to raise the tobacco age, and supporters say the change will save lives, and cut early bad habits.
Opponents challenge that assumption, claiming that the change won’t stop teens from getting their hands on cigarettes.